Crate-digging and personal librarianship.

Opposed to traditional information literacy, take the art of crate-digging as a model. The emphasis goes to inter-personal connection, not being a know-it-all, deep interest, and that tingly excitement from a major find. If education should aspire to greater heights than mere certification, then libraries are poised to be at the front as a central place where students can connect with the things that interest them. In your head, replace “records” with “articles” or “books” or “websites” or “resources” or “bibliographies” or what-have-you. All of a sudden, it gets exciting.

I go after records whenever I have the bread to spend on them, plain and simple. Whatever I’m on the hunt for, I like to take my time and get as personal as possible with the shop and the joints I choose to listen to while I’m there. Sometimes relationships and conversations will bring you more bounty in your digging than just winging it and being a know it all.

What I like is to discover a record on the field with the fisherprice portable, or by trading with my records mates. I like to have records in my collection that means something to me, a feeling, a memory, I remember where I found most of my records, this is important to me. I also like to refresh my collection often, I hate when a record is not listened, It’s like wasted it. I prefer to trade or sell records often to gain more new records. It’s the adrenaline of the discovery that motivates me, no matter what kind of music it is.

One thought on “Crate-digging and personal librarianship.

Leave a Reply

